A video will soon be published here.
Until this video is online we would be grateful if you read the following text.

The problem: climate-busting road traffic matched with empty cars

It is clear that Germany will miss its climate target for 2020 by a wide margin. Road traffic is one of the main reasons for this failure. Since 1990, we have been able to significantly reduce carbon dioxide emissions nearly everywhere, with the exception of traffic. Cars today use slightly less fuel than they used to, but cars are used a lot more.

On average, 1.5 persons share a ride in a car; all other seats remain empty. Roads, on the other hand, are full. Nine times out of ten, whenever a car is going in one direction - practically empty - another car is needlessly going in the same direction (likewise practically empty).

Passenger cars emit nearly 100 million tonnes of carbon dioxide per year in Germany alone. This is roughly the gap that needs to be closed in order to achieve the climate target for 2020. In a sense, we will be missing our climate target because we have a habit of carting around empty seats.

Further information on carbon dioxide

The solution: an app

Our plan is to take the many near-empty cars and replace them with a few full cars. We want to turn the ubiquitous flood of cars into a highly efficient regular bus service. One could also say that we want people to hitch a ride with a digital aid. Digital hitchhiking works like the offline sort, only it's more convenient and safer, with the passengers contributing to the costs automatically.

Take this example:

Michael wants to go to town to do some shopping. Instead of getting in his car, he tells his mobile phone where he wants to go. His mobile phone then tells him that a car will pick him up in 5 minutes.
Just as Michael is getting ready, Catherine is driving along the route that goes past Michael's house. She has fixed her mobile phone to her windshield, and is using it like a normal navigation system. There is a slight difference, however: the system now tells her to stop and pick up Michael, whom the app has registered as a reliable member.
Michael rides along with her to the next junction, where both need to take a different route. Michael transfers to another car that takes him to the supermarket; again, this is facilitated by the app. A digital payment system in the background will transfer Michael's share of the travel costs to Catherine.
The whole process is fully automated, without any organizational effort being required. A potential traveler just has to tell their mobile phone where they want to go. Michael doesn't need to own a car, and Catherine is able to save money.

Further information on the planned app

How to achieve critical mass?

This idea, often called real-time or dynamic ridesharing, has been around for quite some time. Repeated attempts have been made to get the idea off the ground (except for the passenger transfer bit), but each attempt has failed to reach critical mass.

Let us assume that Sarah is the first person to install the app. She will not find any rides on offer and will delete the app because it is useless to her.

The system will only be attractive, and pull in more people, once the number of members reaches critical mass.

The idea may be good, but no company has yet managed to reach critical mass.

United we ride. Get on board.

Wifaz is a citizens' movement. By joining together as individuals, we can achieve what no company has yet managed. We are looking for a large number of committed people to spread the idea. We can pay for the app together, spread the idea together, and reach all decisions together.
We don't need investors; we'll fund the initial investment with the help of donors. The platform will be operated in the public interest, i.e., operations will exclusively be carried out for the common good. Commissions will be priced moderately. Should there be any profits, these will not be distributed to private individuals but will rather be donated to charities, or they will be invested in other future-oriented projects.

If you want to take part, this is how you do it:

  • formally declare your intention of taking part as a driver and/or passenger;

  • donate a small sum towards the development of the app;

  • tell other people about the idea.

Of course we can always do with more help, but these three things are critical to our success, and they are easily done. How about doing them today?

Let's be critical mass together.

Take part!

Political stuff

Whose mobility is it anyway?

This is what the transport system will look like in 20 years' time:
Self-driving electric vehicles, hailed by mobile phone or something similar, and connected to the public transport system, will take passengers from A to B with ease.

But who will own the system? Who will benefit from this billion-euro market?

Platform monopolies

Monopolies have emerged in a variety of digital markets in the past, for example in social media, auction services, the sale of goods, etc. In each market, all market participants are forced to use a specific dominant platform. Sadly, these platforms are all operated on a private and for-profit basis. The result: fat profits for wealthy private investors; opaque power over large amounts of data; and users' lack of privacy.

The ride hailing market is also developing into a monopoly market. People will always choose the largest broker, because all they want is to get to their destination. In the foreseeable future, there will therefore only be one ridesharing broker. But if we are able to establish our ridesharing system quickly, we can play a major role in this market.

Power to the people

The market for ridesharing is still developing. Our aim is to achieve a monopoly position in this market; a monopolistic market is an inevitable outcome anyway. But we want to operate this monopoly in the public interest. The following matters are of particular importance to us:

  • We want the principle of fairness to apply to the market for mobility.

  • Any profits the platform makes shall be used for the common good.

  • We want to maintain a transparent platform and stick to personal-data protection rules instead of having business secrets and see-through users.

  • The platform is to be operated along democratic lines.

We believe that all major digital platforms should meet these requirements. We hope that a successful role model will set an example. The above principles could then be extended to cover other markets.

Further information on the mobility market of the future

An dieser Stelle ist ein Video geplant.
Bis dahin bitten wir euch, den folgenden Text zu lesen.

Das Problem: Klimakiller Straßenverkehr, leere Autos

Straßenverkehr ist in Deutschland inzwischen das Klimaproblem Nummer 2 (nach der Kohleverfeuerung). In allen anderen Bereichen wurde seit 1990 der CO2-Ausstoß deutlich reduziert, auf dem Verkehrssektor nicht. Die Autos fahren heute zwar ein bisschen sparsamer, aber leider auch häufiger.

Durch den PKW-Verkehr in Deutschland werden jährlich knapp 100 Mio t CO2 ausgestoßen. Das entspricht in etwa dem Ausstoß der Kohlekraftwerke, die nach dem aktuellen Beschluss der Kohlekommission bis 2023 stillgelegt werden sollen. 100 Mio t CO2 entsprechen außerdem in etwa der Handlungslücke für das Klimaziel 2020.

In einem PKW sitzen durchschnittlich 1,5 Personen, die restlichen Sitze sind leer. Dafür sind die Straßen voll. Fast überall, wo ein (fast leeres) Auto fährt, fährt unnötigerweise gleichzeitig ein anderes (ebenso leeres) Auto in die gleiche Richtung. Überspitzt gesagt, verfehlen wir also das Klimaziel, weil wir leere Sitze durch die Gegend fahren.

Mehr zum CO2-Thema

Die Lösung: Eine App

Die Idee ist, aus vielen fast leeren Autos wenige volle Autos zu machen. Wir wollen die allgegenwärtige Autolawine in ein hocheffizientes Linienbussystem verwandeln. Oder anders gesagt in digitales Trampen. Das funktioniert wie Trampen, nur bequemer und sicherer. Und die Mitfahrer* beteiligen sich automatisch an den Kosten.

Am besten lässt sich das mit einem Beispiel erklären: 

Michael will zum Einkaufen in die Stadt fahren. Statt ins Auto zu steigen, nimmt er sein Handy und sagt ihm, wo er hin will. Das Handy sagt ihm, dass in 5 Minuten ein Auto kommt und ihn mitnimmt.

Gleichzeitig fährt Karin mit dem Auto auf einer Strecke, die an Michaels Haus vorbeiführt. Sie hat ihr Handy an der Windschutzscheibe und benutzt es wie ein normales Navi. Der kleine Unterschied ist, dass es ihr jetzt sagt, sie soll anhalten und Michael, den die App als zuverlässigen Teilnehmer registriert hat, mitnehmen.

Michael fährt mit bis zur nächsten Abzweigung, wo die beiden in verschiedene Richtungen müssen. Michael steigt in ein anderes Auto um, das ihn dann bis zum Supermarkt fährt, alles vermittelt durch die App. Im Hintergrund läuft ein digitales Bezahlsystem, das eine Fahrtkostenbeteiligung von Michael an Karin überträgt.

Das alles funktioniert vollautomatisch, ohne Organisationsaufwand. Man muss nur dem Handy sagen, wo man hin will, das ist alles. Michael braucht kein Auto und Karin spart Geld.

Mehr zur geplanten App

Das Problem der kritischen Masse

Diese Idee ist nicht neu, sie heißt Dynamic Ridesharing. Sie wurde und wird (bis auf die Sache mit dem Umsteigen) immer wieder versucht, und ist bisher regelmäßig am Problem der kritischen Masse gescheitert.

Nehmen wir einmal an, Sabine ist die Erste, die die App installiert. Sie wird keine Angebote finden und die App enttäuscht wieder löschen.

Erst wenn eine kritische Masse an Teilnehmern* erreicht ist, wird das System attraktiv genug, um mehr Leute anzuziehen.

So ist die Idee zwar in sich schlüssig, aber bisher hat es kein Unternehmen geschafft, die kritische Masse zu erreichen.

Gemeinsam sind wir stark. Mach mit!

Wifaz versteht sich als Bürgerbewegung. Was kein Konzern schafft, schaffen wir, indem wir uns als Bürger zusammenschließen. Wir brauchen viele engagierte Menschen, die die Idee verbreiten. Gemeinsam finanzieren wir die App, gemeinsam verbreiten wir die Idee, gemeinsam treffen wir Entscheidungen.
Wir verzichten auf Investoren und finanzieren die nötige Anschubinvestition durch Spenden. Der Betrieb der Plattform wird im öffentlichen Interesse arbeiten, d.h. er ist ausschließlich dem Gemeinwohl verpflichtet. Die Vermittlungsgebühren bleiben moderat. Etwaige Gewinne werden nicht an Privatpersonen ausgeschüttet, sondern gemeinnützig gespendet oder in neue zukunftsweisende Projekte investiert.

So kannst du mitmachen:

  • Erkläre offiziell deinen Willen, dass du als Fahrer* oder Mitfahrer* teilnehmen wirst.
  • Spende einen kleinen Betrag für die Entwicklung der App
  • Verbreite die Idee

Natürlich können wir noch viel mehr Hilfe brauchen, aber diese drei Dinge sind entscheidend für unseren Erfolg und leicht zu machen. Du kannst sie noch heute erledigen.

Lasst uns gemeinsam die kritische Masse sein!

Mitmachen

Politisches

Wem gehört die Mobilität der Zukunft?

Es ist klar, wie das Verkehrssystem in 20 Jahren aussieht:
Mit selbstfahrenden Elektroautos, die per Handy oder Ähnlichem gerufen und mit dem öffentlichen Verkehrssystem verbunden werden, kommt man unkompliziert von A nach B.

Die Frage ist: Wem gehört dann dieses System? Wer verdient an diesem viele Milliarden schweren Markt?

Plattform-Monopole

Für verschiedene andere digitale Märkte (z. B. soziale Medien, Versteigerungen, Warenverkauf) hat sich ein Monopol herausgebildet. Es gibt jeweils eine große Plattform, an der niemand vorbeikommt. Leider wird diese jeweils privat und gewinnorientiert betrieben. Die Konsequenzen sind Gewinne für Großkapitalisten*, undurchschaubare Macht über große Datenmengen und gläserne Teilnehmer*.

Der Markt der Fahrtvermittlung läuft ebenfalls auf ein Monopol hinaus. Man wird immer den größten Vermittler wählen, einfach weil man weiterkommen will. So wird es auf die Dauer nur einen Fahrtvermittler geben. Wenn wir es schaffen, schnell unser Mitfahrsystem zu etablieren, können wir hier eine führende Rolle einnehmen.

Power to the People

Der Markt für Ridesharing ist noch offen. Wir streben an, das vorhersehbare Monopol auf diesem Sektor zu erlangen und im öffentlichen Interesse zu betreiben. Insbesondere sind uns dabei folgende Punkte wichtig:

  • Ein gerechter Mobilitätsmarkt soll erhalten bleiben.

  • Etwaige Gewinne der Plattform werden für das Gemeinwohl verwendet.

  • Transparente Plattform und individueller Datenschutz anstelle von Geschäftsgeheimnissen und gläsernen Nutzern*.

  • Der Betrieb der Plattform unterliegt einer demokratischen Kontrolle. 

Wir sind der Ansicht, dass alle großen digitalen Plattformen solche Anforderungen erfüllen sollten. Wir hoffen, dass ein gelungenes Beispiel dazu führen kann, dies auch in anderen Bereichen durchzusetzen.

Mehr zum Zukunftsmarkt Mobilität